The man behind Jeremy Kyle’s ‘ Get a job’ snipe.

ass

A couple of weeks ago I had a surreal experience. Two episodes of Jeremy Kyle were frequented by people I have actually met and know on a personal basis. This added a new level to the show I have never felt before. I could go into a million and one things, but I would like to share one moment in particular which featured a man called Ernie. The rest of the episode aside, one moment really summed up how Jeremy tries to twist things despite knowing nothing about the people he interviews. He yells into Ernie’s face ‘ Why don’t you get a job?’ to which Ernie replies meekly, ‘ I have worked in the past.’

This is only half the story. When I first met Ernie in Manchester centre with friends he had been sanctioned by the Jobcentre and so had the people around him. As mentioned he had worked in the past and on the day in question he and a few other people I know were helping me hand out CVs in Manchester centre. Ernie was looking in shop windows for job vacancies with ‘Gaz’ from the previous episode. He was really trying to help me and a fully nice gentleman. Does this sound like someone who should be shouted at to ‘ get a job’ and made to feel bad on TV?

Do you honestly think a man who has worked in the past would prefer to remain sanctioned with no money if he could get a job?

In a way it kind of sums up the whole mentality of the system, people yell and accuse before they walk in the shoes of the people affected by the welfare reforms. Ernie was also doing his best to look for work himself but as the sanctions were hitting people around him as well, that takes over your mind and distracts you. If you were to watch Jeremy Kyle though he is nothing more than a lazy person without a job. Jeremy also retorted to calling him ‘ the slowest milkman in the west’, referring to an old song with the lyrics ‘Ernie the fastest milk man in the west.’ The only ‘slow’ person here is the one yelling ‘get a job’ like a little child, hiding behind security and belittling people without even thinking about anything outside of their own ego.  There are reports that the Jeremy Kyle production team go around local estates looking for guests and offering them money to be on the show. This would make sense considering Ernie an the other people I know live close to the studio.

Jeremy Kyle isn’t alone in nasty sterotyping of course, Judge Rinder also belittles people for not having a job and scoffed at someone as they said they had problems at the Jobcentre, but what do you expect with it being the same production company?

I want to stop watching these shows I really do, but there’s an old saying, know your enemy. The mentality of what is shown rubs off on the public and with all the other shows towing the same lines it’s no wonder hate crimes on benefit claimants and disabled people have gone up.

Editor notes-

  • I was debating in my mind if to post about this for a few weeks but, I feel it has to be said.
  • I’ve tried to keep this as less opinionated and fact based as possible without resorting to calling Jezza a twat.
  • Other people might know Ernie more personally I’m just saying what happened when I met him.
  • Boycott Jeremy Kyle.
#jeremy, #judge, #kyle, #propaganda, #rinder